What is Change Alberta?

Change Alberta is a grassroots campaign organization dedicated to assisting progressive voters who want their votes in the May 5, 2015 provincial election to help elect a progressive government. Sponsored by the Alberta Democratic Renewal Project, which had tried and failed to get the progressive parties to cooperate to unseat the ancient Conservative government of the province, this is the second election in which Change Alberta is taking a stand for progressive Albertans. Our membership includes individuals who belong to each of the four centre-left political parties as well as non-partisan progressives. Our common goal is to elect as many progressives as possible in 2015 through strategic voting. The first-past-the-post voting system necessitates strategic voting when there is more than one progressive party in a province where Conservative voters, though rarely a majority, get to elect huge majorities because progressive votes are split among several parties. In 2012, Change Alberta correctly identified the leading progressive candidate in 39 of 42 winnable constituencies, a success rate of 93 percent. If we pool our votes, we can oust the Tories or at least confront them with a huge progressive opposition as opposed to a small group of opposition politicians whom they can safely ignore.

Advisory Council

Phil Burpee is a cattle producer and beekeeper in the Pincher Creek area and was an NDP candidate in the 2008 provincial election. He has been a director of the Napi Friendship Association, and is past-President of the South Porcupine Hills Stewardship Association.

Dr. Gurston Dacks is emeritus professor of Political Science at the University of Alberta and former acting dean of the Faculty of Arts at the university. He has published extensively on the Canadian North and Aboriginal peoples’ struggles for self-determination.

Phil Elder is a Professor Emeritus of Environmental and Planning Law in the University of Calgary’s Faculty of Environmental Design. He ran unsuccessfully for City Council and also in Calgary Mountainview for Grant Notley’s NDP.

Dr. Alvin Finkel is emeritus professor of History at Athabasca University. His books include popular textbooks in Canadian history, histories of Canadian social policy, a history of Alberta labour, and a history of the Social Credit Party in Alberta.

Dr. Nancy Ginzer is a former CBC radio producer, literary magazine editor, and has taught ESL in Africa. She holds master’s degrees from Johns Hopkins University and Ohio State, and a Doctorate in Pedagogy from the University of Colorado at Boulder.

Dr. Stan Houston has been medical director of the Northern Alberta HIV program since 1990 and teaches in the Department of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases, University of Alberta.

Stan Knowlton is pursuing a Master’s degree from the University of Lethbridge. As a resident of Fort Macleod, he has run twice as the federal NDP candidate for the Macleod Riding. Stan is currently the Head of Interpretation at Head Smashed In Buffalo Jump.

Myrna Kostash is an acclaimed Alberta author of literary and creative nonfiction, whose most recent work, Frog Lake Reader, offers a panoramic perspective on the tragic events surrounding the Frog Lake Massacre of 1885.

The Very Reverend Dr. Bill Phipps is a former Moderator of the United Church of Canada and is an outspoken activist in Calgary and throughout Canada. He is in demand as a speaker, workshop leader, and writer. In 2002 he ran for the NDP against Canadian Alliance Leader Stephen Harper.

Tom Sindlinger is a former Progressive Conservative Member of the Alberta Legislature. He is an Economic Analyst with broad international experience, having successfully completed 18 projects in 12 countries for both the private and public sectors. He is currently working on a project to capture flare gas for infrastructure development in Africa.

Dr. Jay Smith is professor of Political Science at Athabasca University and has published extensively on social media, political ideologies, and Alberta politics.

Ted Woynillowicz is Calgary co-chair of the Council of Canadians and has served as chair of the Board of the Calgary chapter of the Friends of Medicare for the past five years. He is a retired teacher and lives in Calgary.

Contact us

We welcome your comments and suggestions, as well as media requests. Please direct your communication to the email address below. When relevant, please include your constituency or postal code. Thank you.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search